My first car – 1988 Buick Regal Custom

November 10, 2009

I thought I would start off by telling what cars I have owned…since this is going to be a blog partly about cars. Like I said in my About page, I like quiet, elegant cars. Of course, those cars cost money, so you will see in my list where I had to cut corners (cough, Grand Am, cough) to just have transportation.

First car – 1988 Buick Regal Custom

This car got me from point A to point B, and that was it. No one really noticed it, it didn’t have much power, and almost every accessory was broke. It had power windows, but they were broke. It was a coupe, so there wasn’t really a need for power locks, but the locks didn’t work anyway (who would want to steal it even if they worked?). There was A/C, but it was out. Vent air was all you got, although you could do "hot" and "cold" (relative terms of course). The radio worked for the first month I had it, then it was just static. I believe this was because of the "power" antenna…but could never prove it. Almost all Buicks have lights that go all the way across the back, and so did this one – except, most were burnt out. Hard to change? Heck yeah. The dashboard was all broke up, because some poor soul had figured out that if you *hit* the dash, cold air would start blowing. That only worked until the dash just started falling apart.

What was good about it? It was reasonably quiet, had a large trunk (and trunk opening), large rear seat (not for those kinds of activities, mind you) and got me reliably from point A to point B.

While driving it, I started to really enjoy researching cars…so of course I researched the Buick. In 1988, GM debuted three new W-Body cars – the Buick Regal, Pontiac Grand Prix, and Oldsmobile Cutlass. The Grand Prix won Motor Trend’s Car of the Year, and another W-Body car came out in 1990 – the Chevrolet Lumina. GM faltered though – Ford had debuted the Taurus/Sable twins in 1986, and they were sedans – GM only had coupes. Sales weren’t that great, and GM offered a better engine in 1989, but still only in coupe form. The sedans and more engine options didn’t come out until 1990, and sales still weren’t as strong as the Taurus/Sable. The W-Bodies were updated in 1995, and Chevrolet got their heavily revised Lumina that year. That leads me to my next car…

Leave a Reply

