Buying stuff you need…

November 17, 2009

Why do some people always buy what they don’t need? Example: a person that is never going to do anything with their computer but surf the Internet, write an email, and occasionally use a word processor get a computer that is meant for gaming?

Why do some people buy a huge network switch for their two computers, when all they need is a wireless router?

Why buy a 46” LCD TV for your computer monitor?

I understand that some of it is “if you have the money for it, why not get it? But, I buy just what I need – because that is all I can afford. I have gotten really good at looking around and getting what is needed for the customer – what is needed to get them working again. You don’t always have to recommend that the customer get a brand new computer, or brand new devices, in order to get them working. Now, if what they have doesn’t do what they want to do, then I recommend something that gets the job done.

For example, someone wants to start editing movies, but the computer (which they have been fine with so far) can’t handle it. I feel comfortable picking out a machine that will let them capture and edit movies and burn the movies to DVD. However, I don’t feel the need to tell them to go get a $2000 machine, with a 27” monitor…I just feel like that is a waste of money.

But then again, maybe that is because I don’t have the money, so I think “they probably don’t either.”

Leave a Reply

